June 9, 2018 - 5:30pm to 10:00pm


The SEAOI Awards Banquet is the highlight of our program year, as SEAOI members, colleagues, spouses, and friends gather to celebrate the profession of structural engineering. The 2018 Banquet will be held at the Museum of Broadcast Communications in the Saturday Night Live: The Experience exhibit.  

We will announce the winners of the Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards, and honor individuals with the John F. Parmer Award, the SEAOI Service Award, and the Outstanding Young Engineer Award.

Tony Shkurti, our outgoing President, will pass the leadership torch to incoming President David Nickell, who will introduce our new Directors and look ahead to opportunities in the coming year.

Location and Parking

Museum of Broadcast Communications
360 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654

Google Map

Parking is available at LAZ Parking at 401 North State Street (AMA Plaza Garage), diagonal from the museum. Look for the Hertz sign. 
Prepaid parking discount of $9 for 6 hours - must be paid in advance using this link and entering promo code SNL. 
Public Transportation: CTA bus routes 29, 36, and 62 all stop at the front door of the MBC. From the CTA Red Line station at Grand, walk south on State Street for three blocks. From the station at State & Lake, walk north on State Street for one block, cross the river, and MBC will be on the left before you reach Kinzie Street

Photo credit for images: Premier Exhibitions


5:30 pm - 7:30 pm - Cocktails, hors d’oeuvres and Saturday Night Live: The Experience

7:00 pm - 9:00 pm -  Dinner and Awards Presentations

9:00 pm - 10:00 pm - Mingling and private access to museum

2018 Banquet Menu

First Course

Arugula and Grilled Peach Salad
Arugula and Bibb Lettuce and Mixed Greens, Grilled Peaches, Fresh Raspberries, Whipped  Ricotta 


Cinnamon Braised Short Ribs
Topped with Fresh Parsley with Potato Dauphinoise and Grilled Seasonal Vegetables

Chicken Saltimbocca Medallions
Filled with Prosciutto and Sage with a Honey-Sage Dijon Sauce Glaze with Potato Dauphinoise and Grilled Seasonal Vegetables

Puff Pastry Pinwheels (Vegetarian option)
Spinach, Goat Cheese, Zucchini, Red Pepper and Squash Balsamic Cream Sauce on a Bed of Fried Basil

Plated Dessert
White Chocolate Strawberry Tart
Fresh Fruit Plates (Dairy Free/Gluten Free/Vegan option)


Reservations are $150 per person, $1500 for a table of 10. 

Sponsorship Opportunities

The Annual Awards Banquet is made possible by the generous support of sponsoring companies. There are three levels of sponsorship available: Gold ($1,000), Silver ($600), and Bronze ($300). All levels of sponsorship receive recognition in the program, on the SEAOI website, and in the Bulletin. Click here to become a sponsor! 

Please RSVP by June 1 



Derek Boeldt ( Chicago Transit Authority )
Tony Shkurti ( HNTB Corporation )