January 21, 2020 - 5:30pm to 8:30pm

Mark your calendars for the Fourth Annual Young Engineers Symposium on January 21st, 2020. This event will give Young Engineers the opportunity to showcase their projects and experiences, and network and see what their peers are up to. All attendees will receive 1.0 hours of CE credit. 


The Symposium will comprise of five 15-minute or less presentations on a variety of topics. 

Ayia Napa Marina Indira Oraziman, Thornton Tomasetti
Embracing Computational Design Eric Guenther, Forefront Structural Engineers
Erection of Tied Arch Bridge: IL 104 over Illinois River Jared Thoele, P.E., S.E., Hanson Professional Services Inc.
Sunshine Bridge Impact Repairs William Rosenblatt, Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc.
Raising the Standard Jonathan Tavarez, American Institute of Steel Construction


150 N. Riverside Conference Center
150 N. Riverside Plaza
 Chicago, IL 60606


Registration is $10 and advance RSVP is required.

The event begins at 5:30pm with networking and mingling. Light refreshments will be served. The presentations will start at 6:30pm.

Additional Questions

All questions regarding this event should be direct to the YEC at yec@seaoi.org.

About the Speakers

Indira Oraziman, Thornton Tomasetti

As a project engineer at Thornton Tomasetti’s Chicago office, Indira Oraziman is responsible for structural analysis and design, construction administration, peer review, and production of structural deliverables. Her experience includes a variety of building types including commercial and residential high-rise, mixed-use, industrial and institutional complexes. Indira designs of a wide range of challenging high-profile projects in the U.S. and abroad specializing in design for seismic zones.   

                                                                                                 Ayia Napa Marina


Eric Guenther, Forefront Structural Engineers

Eric is an engineer and structural designer passionate about creative exploration in structural engineering. With a Master’s of Architecture focused on structural engineering from the University of Illinois, he has spent his career working on strategic implementation of computational tools balanced with practical design approaches. He has experience in a wide range of building and structural system types with built projects in adaptive reuse and new construction.

                                                                                      Embracing Computational Design

Jared Thoele, P.E., S.E., Hanson Professional Services Inc.

Jared Thoele joined Hanson Professional Services Inc. in 2011 and serves as a structural engineer in Hanson’s Infrastructure Market. He graduated from UIUC in May 2010 with his B.S. in CEE, and in May 2011 with his M.S. in CEE. He is both a Licensed P.E. and S.E. in Illinois. Mr. Thoele’s design experience includes the temporary works, shallow and deep foundations, steel and concrete girder bridges, and both force-based and displacement-based seismic design. 

                                    Erection of Tied Arch Bridge: IL 104 over Illinois River

William Rosenblatt, Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc.

William Rosenblatt is an Associate III with Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates (WJE) in Northbrook, Illinois. His work mainly focuses on the structural evaluation and repair of bridges. In addition to bridges, he participates in the investigation and rehabilitating buildings. Mr. Rosenblatt is a member of WJE’s Difficult Access Team, and much of his field work involves rappelling and climbing structures in order to evaluate existing conditions.

                                                                                Sunshine Bridge Impact Repairs                                                                                            

Jonathan Tavarez, P.E., American Institute of Steel Construction

Jonathan Tavarez, P.E. is a Staff Engineer with the AISC Steel Solutions Center. He answers technical questions related to structural steel design, fabrication, and erection, serves as the Secretary for Task Committee 11 Nuclear Facilities, and serves as the Secretary for the Committee on Code of Standard Practice. He earned his Bachelors in Civil Engineering from the University of Texas at El Paso, and a Masters in Structural Engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

                                                                                         Raising the Standard



Eric Guenther ( Forefront Structural Engineers )
Jared Thoele ( Hanson Professional Services, Inc. )
Willy Rosenblatt ( Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc. (Chicago) )
Jonathan Tavarez ( AISC )
Indira Oraziman
Kevin Godshall
Cynthia Frias ( RxBar )
Mikhail Pasetes ( Horner & Shifrin )
Amar Bhojwani ( Alfred Benesch & Co. )
Josh Dortzbach ( Forefront Structural Engineers, Inc. )
Steven Nolin ( Klein and Hoffman )
Jonathan Carag ( Klein and Hoffman, Inc. )
Andrew Werkema
Iryna Paikoush
Demetria Boatwright ( Raths Raths & Johnson )
Willy Rosenblatt ( Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc. (Chicago) )
Justin Dierkes ( Johnson Wilbur Adams )
Thomas Mendez
Megan Benetatos ( AECOM )
Liz LaCrosse ( Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc. )
Thomas Frankie ( Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc. (Chicago) )
Charlotte Sauer ( CannonDesign )
Robert Pennington ( Cannon Design )
Elisa Godinez ( EXP )
Josia Tannos ( Thornton Tomasetti )
Kevin OConnor ( Sargent & Lundy )
Anthony Viola ( Adrian Smith + Gordon Gill Architecture )
Justin Mickens ( TranSystems Corporation )
Chris Knipp ( Jacobs )
Melissa Marrero ( Adrian Smith + Gordon Gill )
Noel Outlaw ( Thatcher Foundations )
Edgardo Santana ( ATMI Precast )
Nishan Pethiyagoda ( Hilti, Inc. )
Lamyae Reklaoui ( Goodfriend Magruder Structure LLC )
Hemal Patel ( EXP )
John Grochulski ( Hardesty & Hanover )
Lisa Barkand ( Hilti )
Jesse Fate ( Hilti North America )
Adele Scampoli ( Thornton Tomasetti )
Kremena Dokliev ( Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc. )
Kathryn Eckhoff ( Thornton Tomasetti )
Alejandro Fernandez ( Thornton Tomasetti )
Jerome Tobolski ( Thornton Tomasetti )
Bogdan Dykyy ( AECOM )
Hershel Bhat ( Klein and Hoffman )
Benjamin Sexton ( Thornton Tomasetti )
Prateek Sangal ( Leidos Engineering LLC )
Ivano Ipsaro Passione ( AECOM )
Charles Boutros ( Sargent & Lundy )
Anni Rao ( Sargent & Lundy )
Kevin Huberty ( Sargent & Lundy )
Michelle Ryland ( Klein and Hoffman, Inc. )
Bryan Stephens ( HNTB )
Kamel Bilal ( Stantec )
Farah Piatek ( CEG )
Joseph Porada ( Thornton Tomasetti )
Michael Mendenhall ( Hanson Professional Services, Inc. )
Andrea La Greca ( Simpson Gumpertz & Heger )
Emily Larson ( Burns & McDonnell )
Matt Arnold ( Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc. )
Radhika Pavgi ( Thornton Tomasetti )
Ryan Koehn ( Forefront Structural Engineers )
Leutrim Demiri ( IIT )
Prakarsh Gurmule ( IIT )
Jacob Behnke ( IIT )
George Beck ( IIT )
Gurmandeep Kaur Saggu ( IIT )
Zachary Haney ( IIT )
David Nauheimer ( Sargent & Lundy LLC )
Rami Asfahani ( Ciorba Group )
Peter Busch ( HNTB )
Enji Papazisi ( HNTB Corporation )
Mary Lou Kutska ( Ciorba Group )
Marius Deac