February 4, 2020 - 5:00pm to 7:00pm

Transformable Structures: Applications and Design Challenges​

Mechanical advantage can be gained by introducing measured instability in a structure or portions of it. Thus, by allowing geometric transformation, structures can be designed for minimum stowage volume, easy portability, and adaptability in response to changing user activities and environmental conditions. That said, movable building parts present unique technical challenges to structural engineers. In his presentation, Sudarshan Krishnan will discuss the principles of motion design, the taxonomy of transformable structures and successful applications. Using a series of projects, he will address the key issues and challenges in geometrical, structural and deployment concept designs. 

1 CEU will be issued for this event.


Cliff Dwellers Club

200 S. Michigan Ave, 22nd Floor

Chicago, IL


Caesar Salad

Grilled Filet of Salmon



Registration is $55 for members and $75 for non-members.


If you make a reservation and cannot attend, please cancel before Friday, January 31st. If you do not cancel by that time, please send a colleague in your place, as you will be charged.

Sponsorship Opportunities

Dinner Meeting Sponsor (limit 1 per dinner meeting) - $1,000

Sponsorship package includes:

  • Recognition in all marketing materials and on SEAOI website
  • Two-minute speaking opportunity from the podium
  • Two registrations for the Dinner Meeting

About the Speaker

Sudarshan Krishnan, PhD.

Assistant Professor, Structures,The Illinois School of Architecture

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Sudarshan Krishnan earned his Ph.D in Structural Engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. As an Assistant Professor in the School of Architecture, his research looks for unique crossovers in geometry, architecture and engineering. Having found this confluence in transformable structures, his research is focused on earth and space structures with an emphasis on deployable applications. The work involves geometric, structural, and deployment concept designs, facilitated by a combination of physical prototyping, analytical modeling and parametric studies. Sudarshan’s work at the University of Illinois was recognized in the Big Ten Network’s (BTN) “Stories of Innovation, Impact and Inspiration.”




Jonathan Tavarez ( American Institute of Steel Construction )
Pat McCarthy ( RETIRED )
Megan Redell ( Burns & McDonnell )
Matthew Streid ( Magnusson Klemencic Associates )
Daniel Morton ( Burns & McDonnell )
Michael Weber ( Euclid Chemical Company )
David Petlicki ( Baldridge and Associates )
Yasmin Chaudhry ( Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc. )
Jie Yang ( Jacobs Engineering )
Bob Magruder ( Goodfriend Magruder Structure LLC )
Nihar Shah ( Rubinos & Mesia Engineers, Inc. )
Jeff Ruhde ( Burns & McDonnell )
Jan Blok ( The Structural Group, Ltd. )
Josh Brickman ( Magnusson Klemencic Associates )
Judy Brady ( C.E. Anderson & Associates, P.C. )
Charles Anderson ( C.E. Anderson & Associates, P.C. )
Lauren Rush ( CE Anderson & Associates )
Mike Fagerson ( CE Anderson & Associates )
Phil Svetich ( CE Anderson & Associates )
Juan Moreno ( CE Anderson & Associates )
Jon Kopterski ( CE Anderson & Associates )
Mark McClendon ( CE Anderson & Associates )
Eduardo Prieto ( Exp Federal )
David Nauheimer ( Sargent & Lundy LLC )
John Conroyd ( AECOM Hunt Construction )
William Kolbuk ( Sargent & Lundy LLC )
David Eckmann ( Magnusson Klemencic Associates )
Jennifer Traut-Todaro ( AISC - American Institute of Steel Construction )
Brian Boysen ( Burns & McDonnell )
Adam Theiss ( Magnusson Klemencic Associates )
Will Godfrey ( DeSimone Consulting Engineers )
Charlotte Sauer ( CannonDesign )
Michelle Ryland ( Klein and Hoffman, Inc. )
Stephanie Hautzinger ( CannonDesign )
David Bibbs ( CannonDesign )
Ronald Johnson ( Johnson Engineering Systems )
Nezar Abraham ( Rimkus Consulting Group, Inc )
Nancy Radler ( SEAOI )
Stephanie Crain ( SEAOI )
Sudarshan Krishnan ( University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign )
Salvatore Bernardo ( Ciorba Group, Inc. )