February 2, 2021 - 5:30pm to 6:30pm

How Structural Engineers Can Design Themselves a Better Foundation Through Their Services Agreements

Experienced construction lawyers, Kevin Sido and Esther Seitz of Hinshaw & Culbertson, LLP, will offer tips on improving service agreements for structural engineers.

Learning Objectives

  • Important tips on contract provisions to use and which to avoid;
  • How insurability of certain contract provisions is often overlooked to the SE’s detriment;
  • The ethics of peer review assignments and what the SE should do when asked to succeed to another SE

This is a virtual event on Zoom. Please register before 10:00am on Monday, 2/1/21 to ensure you receive access to the presentation.


Members - $25

Non-Members - $50

1 CE Hour

About the Speakers

Kevin Sido, Partner

Hinshaw & Culbertson, LLP

Kevin Sido has represented design professionals for over 45 years. He has frequently spoken for SEAOI, NCSEA, ISPE, AIA-Illinois, ACEC. He is an affiliate member of SEAOI and has authored several amicus curiae briefs for SEAOI. He is a mediator and arbitrator for the AAA. He served as editor for Architect and Engineer Liability, Claims Against Design Professionals (Aspen 3d ed. 2006).  


Esther Seitz, Partner

Hinshaw & Culbertson, LLP

Esther Seitz litigates construction and design-related disputes at the administrative, trial and appellate levels. She also represents design professionals in procurement matters. In addition, Esther concentrates her practice in copyright, trademark, privacy and First Amendment law and frequently counsels’ clients on access-to-government issues arising under the Freedom of Information Act and Open Meetings Act.



Craig Marifke ( ZS LLC )
Andy Martin ( ZS LLC )
Brian Moen ( ZS LLC )
Fernando Saz ( The Structural Group )
David Nauheimer ( Sargent & Lundy LLC )
John McLean ( Simpson, Gumpertz & Heger )
Rolf Pawski ( Landmark Structures )
Olivia Hansen ( IIT )
Emilia Rosales Loayza
David Holdener ( Thouvenot, Wade & Moerchen, Inc. )
Dennis Penepacker ( None )
Grant Halvorsen ( Halvorsen Engineering and Consulting )
John Miller ( Nayyar & Nayyar, International, Inc. )
Derek Boeldt ( Chicago Transit Authority )
William Bast ( LPI, Inc. )
David Horos ( Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP )
David Eckmann ( Magnusson Klemencic Associates )
Bruce Schopp ( Oates Associates )
Mark Hirschi ( BASE )
Debra Hoegemeyer ( Uptown Structural Engineering LLC )
Helen Torres ( Helen Torres & Associates, PLLC )
Alison Blaser ( USI Insurance Services, LLC )
Melissa Roberts ( USI Insurance Services LLC )
Brenda Karhoff ( Garza Karhoff Engineering, LCC )
Matthew Streid ( Magnusson Klemencic Associates )
Lawrence Kirchner ( TranSystems )
William Kolbuk ( Sargent & Lundy LLC )
Jan Blok ( The Structural Group, Ltd. )
Matthew Hopper ( Cary Kopczynski & Company )
Stephanie Crain ( SEAOI )
Mary Jane Davis ( SEAOI )
Kevin Sido ( Hinshaw & Culbertson )
Esther Seitz ( Hinshaw & Culbertson LLP )
James Pawlikowski ( REX Engineering Group )
Nancy Radler ( SEAOI )