February 7, 2017 - 5:15pm to 7:15pm


River Point Tower - Tapering Over Trains

presented by David Eckmann, SE, PE AIA

Please register by Friday, February 3 to guarantee your place.  Registrations made after that time will be accommodated if possible, but cannot be guaranteed. 

See who's coming!


About the Presentation 

River Point Tower, located at 444 West Lake Street, is a new riverfront landmark that includes a 52-story, 712-ft tall,1,300,000-ft² speculative office tower, and a 1.5-acre public plaza along the Chicago River in the West Loop.  Targeting LEED Gold, the office tower features high-strength structural steel framing and a tapered concrete core. Sloped columns and a unique framing system are incorporated at the top and bottom of the building to create wedge-shaped arches that define the curved "football-shaped" façade of the building, in addition to a sloped cable-net wall, which provides a striking lobby entrance.  The plaza, which contains ample seating, large trees, and a spacious assembly lawn, spans directly over six active rail lines as well as the below-grade CTA Blue Line. Elevated precast concrete bulb-T’s, supported by thick concrete walls on driven piles, provide the needed railroad clear spans of up to 135 feet.  Loads from the office tower columns, which are located directly over the below-grade CTA Blue Line, were transferred to rock caissons that straddle the transit line. The project also included design of a 5-story restaurant, north of the office tower.



About the Speaker  

Dave Eckmann is the Managing Principal of Magnusson Klemencic Associates’ (MKA’s) Chicago office, an award-winning structural and civil engineering firm with offices in Seattle and Chicago.  Educated and licensed as both an architect and structural engineer, Dave has a unique perspective and passion for the melding of architecture and structure.  Over his 29-year career, he has engineered many Chicago landmark structures, including Aqua, O’Hare’s International Terminal, the Blue Cross Blue Shield Vertical Expansion, Roosevelt University Vertical Campus, Boeing Headquarters, and the University of Chicago Ratner Athletics Center.

Dave is a leader in the architectural and engineering community, having served on many professional committees including the Chicago Committee on High Rise Buildings (Past-Chair), Structural Engineers Foundation (Past Director), AIA Chicago Board (Past Executive Committee Member), and the University of Illinois Structural Engineering Conference Advisory Board.

Dave is a frequent public speaker and has been published on multiple occasions, particularly on topics related to innovative collaborations between architects and engineers, and the creative use of building materials.



Cliff Dwellers Club

200 S. Michigan Ave, 22nd Floor

Chicago, IL



The registration fee is $45 for members, $65 for non-members. The evening begins with a cocktail hour at 5:15 pm. Dinner will be served at 6, and the presentation will start shortly thereafter. Please note that Cliff Dwellers' bar only accepts credit cards; cash is no longer accepted. 


Cancellation Policy:

If you make a reservation and cannot attend, please cancel by Friday, February 3.  If you do not cancel by that time, please send a colleague, as you will be charged.



Jessy Rojas ( EFK Moen, LLC )
Jimmy Nowak ( Virgilio & Associates, Ltd. )
Ryan Freund ( Virgilio & Associates, Ltd. )
Pat McCarthy ( RETIRED )
Daniel Roig ( Roig Associates )
Tony Kiefer ( Terracon )
Jose Medero ( Thornton Tomasetti, Inc. )
Roman Vovchak ( TranSystems )
Cynthia Duncan ( AISC )
Rami Asfahani ( Ciorba Group )
John Miller ( Nayyar & Nayyar International, Inc. )
Ken Nizamuddin ( Rubinos & Mesia Engineers, Inc. )
Robert Kudder ( Raths, Raths & Johnson, Inc. )
Jack Gibbons ( Portland Cement Association )
Shane Farr ( Hayward Baker, Inc. )
Ronald Bert Johnson ( Johnson Engineering Systems )
Michael Grant ( Orbital Engineering )
Kevin Conroy ( Simpson Gumpertz & Heger )
Gustavo Gonzalez ( IIT - Illinois Institute of Technology )
Kremena Dokliev ( IIT - Illinois Institute of Technology )
Russell Robinson ( IIT - Illinois Institute of Technology )
Indira Oraziman ( IIT - Illinois Institute of Technology )
Hamza Sekkak ( IIT - Illinois Institute of Technology )
Alwalid Dhaher ( IIT - Illinois Institute of Technology )
Pegah Farshadmanesh ( IIT - Illinois Institute of Technology )
Nishan Pethiyagoda ( Hilti, Inc. )
Jared D'Amico ( K2N Crest )
Michael Zelisko ( Primera Engineers )
Salvatore DiBernardo ( Ciorba Group )
Robert B. Johnson
Eric Bolin ( AISC )
John Kissinger ( GRAEF (Milwaukee) )
Karina Cisneros ( Sargent and Lundy )
Greg Thompson ( RWDI )
Nancy Gavlin ( AISC - American Institute of Steel Construction )
Marwa Abdelrahman
Jan Blok ( The Structural Group, Ltd. )
Stephaine Hautzinger ( CannonDesign )
Wesley Youman ( CannonDesign )
Gerry Flores ( CannonDesign )
David Bibbs ( CannonDesign )
Michael Herriges ( DZSE )
Carol Drucker ( Drucker Zajdel Structural Engineers, Inc. )
Amy Patel ( BASF )
Joel Smit ( KJWW Engineering Consultants )
Michelle Ryland ( Klein and Hoffman, Inc. )
David Nickell ( TGRWA )
Peter Ivanovich ( HBK Engineering, LLC )
Bethany Myelle ( Magnusson Klemencic Associates )
Matthew Hopper ( Cary Kopczynski & Company )
Michael Justice ( TGRWA, LLC )
Gary Hall ( VCNA Prairie Material )
George Krupa
Adam Theiss ( Magnusson Klemencic Associates )
John Schmidt ( Rack Builders Inc. )
Lucas Cusack ( Magnusson Klemencic Associates )
Jennifer Traut-Todaro ( AISC - American Institute of Steel Construction )
Edmund Schloss ( ARUP )