September 20, 2019 - 11:15am to 1:00pm

SE Practice Act Renewal and Revisions -- What You Need to Know

How familiar are you with the legislation and licensing body that regulates your livelihood as a practicing structural engineer? Illinois is one of only two states with a full practice act, which requires all structures to be designed by a structural engineer. Practice acts protect the public from unqualified practitioners and fraudulent activities, and they also protect the practicing engineer.

The Illinois Senate Bill renewing the Structural Engineering Practice Act was signed on August 9, 2019, and our practice act is renewed for another 10 years (until January 2030). During our interactive panel discussion, we will discuss the process and recent experience of renewing the Practice Act, items that were modified in the SE Practice Act and become effective in January 2020, what role the Structural Engineering Board plays, and more. Attendees will also have the opportunity to ask questions of the panelists.

This event is recommended for licensed structural engineers, those considering/in the process of becoming a licensed structural engineer, principals, owners and project managers, and anyone who works with a structural engineer.

Learning Objectives

Attendees can expect to walk away with an understanding of:

  • The requirements and scope of the practice act
  • The renewal process
  • The role of the SE Board
  • How the practice act affects practicing structural engineers

Attendees will receive one hour of CEU credit.


University Club
76 East Monroe St.
Chicago, IL 60603

Dress Code 

As set by the University Club House Rules, the club’s dress code is as follows:

Traditional Business or Business Casual Attire; Denim, Shorts, T-Shirts, Athletic Shoes or Attire and Flip Flops are Not Permitted. Collared Shirts are Required for Men.

Parking Information

Valet Parking

$32 Per Vehicle – For Duration of Event

$47 Overnight Guests with In and Out Privileges Prices Subject to Change without Notice.

Millennium Garages Self-Parking 312-616-0600

East Monroe Garage
Entrance is on Columbus Street, Just East of Michigan Avenue and Just South of East Randolph Street.

Grant Park North Garage
Entrance is on North Michigan Avenue between Monroe Street (from the South, heading North) and Washington Street (from the North, heading South)

Grant Park South Garage
Entrance is on North Michigan Avenue between Congress Parkway (from the South, heading North), and Adams Street (from the North, heading South).


The cost for the luncheon is $75. The event begins at 11:15am with networking and a cash bar.  


David Bibbs, SE, PE
Senior Vice President, Cannon Design; Chairman, Structural Engineering Board

David Bibbs is a Senior Vice President at CannonDesign, an integrated global design firm. Dave has been with the firm for 27 years and is a licensed structural engineer in Illinois and a licensed professional engineer in 19 other states. His experience includes a wide range of complex building designs in healthcare, education and corporate facilities. Dave was on the SEAOI board from 2000 to 2011 and served as president from 2007-2008. He is currently serving on the Illinois Structural Engineering Licensing Board.


Jan Blok
President, The Structural Group, Ltd.

Jan Blok is President and a founder of The Structural Group, Ltd., a Deerfield, Illinois based structural engineering firm. Jan has led TSG for over 25 years and is licensed in 21 states including Illinois.  His experience includes a wide range of low to high-rise structures, both new and historic. 

Jan received M.S. and B.S. degrees from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.  He is on the executive board of SEAOI and secretary of SEPAC/GAC.

Kim Robinson
Frontline Company - Executive Director of ISPE

Kim Robinson serves as President of FrontlineCo where she directs the firm’s association management practice and focuses on member services, public affairs and building strategic alliances.  She offers specific expertise in engineering and construction issues.

She is the former Executive Director of the Illinois Capital Development Board, where she directed the state’s $3 billion capital program for four years. She previously served as policy director and press secretary for the Illinois Secretary of State, along with other executive-level positions.


Kevin R. Sido
Hinshaw & Culbertson LLP

Kevin Sido (pronounced SEE-do) has represented design professionals for over 40 years in matters of litigation, licensure, contracts and risk management.  He has consulted for ISPE, AIA Illinois and SEAOI on practice act amendments in 1999, 2009 and again in 2019.

Kevin has made many presentations over the years to SEAOI, ISPE, and AIA Illinois on ethics, amicus briefs, and many other issues.  He has been a professional affiliate member of SEAOI for decades. Kevin is a partner in the Chicago office of Hinshaw & Culbertson LLP.


David Nauheimer, P.E., S.E. 
Sargent & Lundy

David Nauheimer is a Senior Associate at Sargent and Lundy, who recently obtained his SE license.  His experience is primarily in the industrials and power generation; and he has several years of site experience at client sites providing construction support.  His current work has him designing substation structures.  David is also involved with SEAOI as one of the Young Engineer’s Committee Co-Chairs.



Shelley Finnigan ( ArcelorMittal )
John Kissinger ( GRAEF (Milwaukee) )
George Podrebarac ( GRAEF (Chicago Loop) )
Steve Elver ( GEI Consultants, Inc. )
David Nickell ( TGRWA, LLC )
Mark Bendok ( Alfred Benesch & Company )
Harry Allen ( HRA Engineering LLC )
Brian Boysen ( Burns & McDonnell )
Ronald Boehm
Andrew Weihert ( Sargent & Lundy, LLC )
Amir Moid ( Sargent & Lundy )
Ahmed Elremaily ( Sargent & Lundy )
Daniel Hernandez ( Sargent & Lundy )
Gary Powell ( Stantec Consulting Services Inc. )
Kevin Sido ( Hinshaw & Culbertson )
Thomas Poulos ( Thornton Tomasetti, Inc. )
William Kucera ( DB Sterlin Consultants, Inc. )
M. Basar Civelek ( DB Sterlin Consultants, Inc. )
Scott Birney ( DLR Group )
Mohammad Hassan ( Jacobs )
Abhiram Tammana ( Thornton Tomasetti )
Anna Dukes ( TranSystems )
Jared D'Amico ( K2N Crest )
Jan Blok ( The Structural Group, Ltd. )
Kim Robinson ( ISPE/Frontline )
David Nauheimer ( Sargent & Lundy LLC )
David Bibbs ( CannonDesign )
Nancy Radler ( SEAOI )
Stephanie Crain ( SEAOI )
Salvatore DiBernardo ( Ciorba Group )
Andrew Schwarz ( HBK Engineering )
Michelle Ryland ( Klein & Hoffman )
John Ashton ( Collins Engineers, Inc. )
Roger DiGiulio ( Parsons )
Christine Freisinger ( Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc. )