March 5, 2019 - 5:00pm to 7:00pm

Making the Great Hall Great Again: The Restoration of Chicago Union Station’s Great Hall

Robert Lau of Klein and Hoffman and Len Koroski of Goettsch Partners present “Making the Great Hall Great Again: The Restoration of Chicago Union Station’s Great Hall.”

From a joint condition assessment and exploratory investigation of the problems, to the design and implementation of the solutions, the story of this restoration project is one for the history books.  First envisioned in the early 1900’s by Daniel Burnham and quickly realized, the Headhouse Building of Chicago Union Station is a treasured landmark in the City of Chicago, and within it the Great Hall is a focal point.

Klein and Hoffman and Goettsch Partners had to take great care in respecting the historical status of the interior space while providing a new, energy-efficient skylight to cap over the existing skylight, restore the existing skylight, and to restore the interior stone and plaster walls of the Great Hall.

Attendees will earn 1.0 hour of CEU. CE certificates will be emailed after the event.

About the Speakers


Robert Lau, Klein and Hoffman 

Robert Lau, PE is an Associate V with Klein and Hoffman and works in the firm’s structural engineering group. Mr. Lau has over 10 years of experience in the investigation, design, and analysis of building structures with emphasis on the adaptive reuse and renovation of existing buildings. He is licensed as a professional engineer in Illinois. Some of his recognized projects include work at Chicago Union Station, The Shakespeare Theater Moveable Seating Towers, and The Wrigley Building Ghirardelli Store.

Leonard Koroski, FAIA, LEED AP 

Len Koroski is a principal and senior project architect at Goettsch Partners. Joining in 1979, he has spent the majority of his career at the firm. Mr. Koroski has a particular passion and expertise for the renovation, preservation, repositioning and adaptive reuse of older buildings. He has extensive experience in historical research, materials analysis, and life safety and infrastructure improvements. Len has worked with the Chicago Landmarks Commission, the Illinois Historic Preservation Agency, and the National Park Service in obtaining historically sensitive and pragmatic reviews of projects. Additionally, Len is a LEED Accredited Professional with an interest in environmental stewardship and efficiency in older buildings. Mr. Koroski received his Bachelor of Architecture degree from the Illinois Institute of Technology. He is also a LEED Accredited Professional and was elevated to the distinguished AIA College of Fellows in 2012. 


Cliff Dwellers Club

200 S. Michigan Ave, 22nd Floor

Chicago, IL  


  • Bibb Lettuce and Artichokes
  • Grilled Filet of Salmon
  • Key Lime Pie

The evening begins with a cocktail hour at 5:15 pm. Dinner will be served at 6:00 pm, and the presentation will start shortly thereafter.  

Registration is $55 for members and $75 for non-members.


If you make a reservation and cannot attend, please cancel before Friday, March 1st. If you do not cancel by that time, please send a colleague in your place, as you will be charged.



William Kolbuk ( Sargent & Lundy LLC )
Jan Blok ( The Structural Group, Ltd. )
Nino Corsetti ( Corsetti Structural Steel, Inc. )
Jeff Werniak ( Corsetti Structural Steel, Inc. )
Johann Aakre ( HNTB Corporation )
David Horos ( Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP )
Paul Sanders ( P Sanders Consultancy LLC )
Peter Busch ( HNTB )
Joe Dickerson ( Barr Engineering Co. )
Rami Asfahani ( Ciorba Group )
Nishan Pethiyagoda ( Hilti, Inc. )
Jonathan Tavarez ( American Institute of Steel Construction )
Bethany Myelle ( Magnusson Klemencic Associates Inc )
Dhananjay Patil ( IIT )
Naekyung Han ( IIT )
Daksh Patel ( IIT )
Fnu Naseeruddin ( IIT )
Nicholas Wozniak ( IIT )
Prakarsh Gumule ( IIT )
Jacob Behnke ( IIT )
Jillian Edwards ( IIT )
Steven Jastrzebski ( Sargent & Lundy )
Ezra Arif Edwin ( Simpson Gumpertz & Heger )
Zachary Haney
Don Jabczynski ( S.E. Enhancements, LLC )
Daniel Morton ( Burns & McDonnell )
Amber Seiber ( Collins Engineers, Inc. )
Richard Raffin ( Collins Engineers Inc. )
Kyle Von Holten ( Collins Engineer, Inc. )
David Eckmann ( Magnusson Klemencic Associates )
John Kissinger ( GRAEF (Milwaukee) )
Don Redar ( Bulley & Andrews Concrete Restoration )
Lawrence Kirchner ( TranSystems )
Hershel Bhat ( Klein & Hoffman )
Justin Mickens ( TranSystems Corporation )
Robert B. Johnson
Jonathan Carag ( Klein and Hoffman, Inc. )
Kevin Sido ( Hinshaw & Culbertson )
Brian Boysen ( Burns & McDonnell )
Terrence McDonald ( Klein and Hoffman, Inc. )
Stephanie Hautzinger ( CannonDesign )
Bob Magruder ( Goodfriend Magruder Structure LLC )
Michelle Ryland ( Klein & Hoffman )
John Becker ( CBRE )
Kevin Dommer ( Jensen Hughes )
Arnis Tupuritis ( CBRE )
John McHugh ( Berglund Construction )
Eric Dexter ( Berglund Construction )
Megan Redell ( Burns & McDonnell )
Jennifer Traut-Todaro ( AISC - American Institute of Steel Construction )
Joel Smit ( CannonDesign )
Tom Harrison ( Holabird & Root, LLC )
Lukas Janulis ( Orion Engineers )
Michelle Gillette-Murphy ( MWRDGC )
Nezar Abraham ( Rimkus Consulting Group, Inc )
Len Korowski ( Goettsch Partners, Inc. )
Stephanie Crain ( SEAOI )
Robert Lau ( Klein and Hoffman, Inc. )
Nancy Radler ( SEAOI )
Eduardo Prieto ( Cordogan Clark & Associates )