October 6, 2020 - 5:30pm to 6:00pm

On April 19, 2019, the Chicago City Council approved a full rewrite of the Chicago Building Code (CBC) to bring the City's construction requirements into better alignment with the International Building Code. These changes represent the first comprehensive revisions to the Chicago Building Code in nearly seventy years.  This presentation summarizes significant changes to the structural provisions of the 2019 Chicago Building Code.

SEAOI is offering this seminar as a live online presentation.

1 Continuing Education Hour. 


Member - $25
Non-Member - $60 

About the Speakers

James Hauck, P.E, S.E, Principal 
Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc.

James Hauck is a licensed structural engineer and Principal in the Chicago office of Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc.  He was a member of both the prior 2009/2010 Chicago Building Code Initiative, and a member of the structural task group for the 2019 Chicago Building Code adoption of the IBC.

Grant Ulrich, Deputy Building Commissioner
City of Chicago

Grant Ullrich, Assoc. AIA, is a Deputy Commissioner in the City of Chicago Department of Buildings with responsibility for code development, policy, and administration. He is currently leading a multi-year effort to better align the City of Chicago’s construction requirements with the latest model building codes and standards, including the International Building Code.  Grant is a licensed attorney and holds professional degrees in law and architecture from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Prior to joining the Department of Buildings, he worked in the City’s Law Department for eight years, handling a wide variety of matters including civil prosecutions, legislative drafting, and high-profile constitutional litigation.  In 2019, Grant was elected to the International Code Council’s Major Jurisdictions Steering Committee.



Rachel Jackson ( Thornton Tomasetti, Inc. )
Don Jabczynski ( S.E. Enhancements, LLC )
Jonathan Pearson ( EXP )
George Krupa ( Lakeshore Engineering, LLC )
John Miller ( Nayyar & Nayyar, International, Inc. )
Michael Cox ( MC & Associates, LLC )
Antonio Antonio Jr. ( Antonio and Associates, P.C. )
Ardie Mansouri ( Case Engineering, Inc. )
Aziz Kadric ( Case Engineering, Inc. )
Kyle Linenfelser ( Case Engineering, Inc. )
Harry Allen ( HRA Engineering LLC )
David Petlicki ( Baldridge and Associates )
Brian Lammert ( Raths, Raths & Johnson, Inc. )
William Smith ( J. Watson Engineering Co., Inc. )
Helmut Mueller ( Mueller & Associates, LLC )
Jorge Medina ( Leidos )
Camille Loudenback ( Klein and Hoffman )
Joe Porada ( Thornton Tomasetti )
Randy Herbstman ( WSP USA Inc )
William Kolbuk ( Sargent & Lundy LLC )
Michael Weber ( Euclid Chemical Company )
Justin Mickens ( Parsons Corporation )
Peter Busch ( HNTB )
Matthew Streid ( Magnusson Klemencic Associates )
Jonathan Sladek ( WSP USA )
Lawrence Kirchner ( TranSystems )
Stephanie Hautzinger ( CannonDesign )
Christine Freisinger ( Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc. )
David Eckmann ( Magnusson Klemencic Associates )
José Medero ( Thornton Tomasetti )
David Nauheimer ( Sargent & Lundy LLC )
Ronald Bert Johnson ( Johnson Engineering Systems )
Debra Hoegemeyer ( Uptown Structural Engineering LLC )
David Nickell ( TGRWA, LLC )
Michael Wysockey ( Thatcher Foundations, Inc )
Daniel Morton ( Burns & McDonnell )
Seth Hoffman ( Brierley Associates )
William Bast ( Thornton Tomasetti, Inc. )
Keli Dudek ( KeliAnn Engineering, LLC )
Jennifer Deem ( Forefront Structural Engineers, Inc. )
Matthew Hopper ( Cary Kopczynski & Company )
David Bibbs ( CannonDesign )
Timothy Winter ( WSP USA )
Nezar Abraham ( Thornton Tomasetti )