April 28, 2020 - 5:00pm to 7:00pm

The Hoover Dam Bypass

The Hoover Dam Bypass joins one of the most famous civil engineering landmarks in the world. Set in such close proximity to this national treasure, the Colorado River crossing has its own story to tell: it is the highest and longest concrete arch bridge in the Western Hemisphere and features the world’s tallest precast concrete columns. Such an engineering challenge was undertaken with solemn obligation—to design a bridge that would complement its neighbor and proudly take its own place as a structure of immeasurable grandeur.

The 2,000-foot-long bridge located 1,500 feet downstream of Hoover Dam is the dramatic centerpiece of the Hoover Dam Bypass Project, which includes new approaches on both sides of the river and six other bridges. Other significant project features include rock cuts and fills exceeding 100 feet in height, wildlife underpasses, and pedestrian access and accommodations. The need for economy, speed of construction in a challenging canyon environment, and aesthetics, resulted in the first steel-concrete hybrid arch bridge in the United States. The design team presented a bridge that complements the concrete arch-gravity dam with a high-performance concrete arch while limiting load demands with a modern steel composite superstructure. The bridge was also designed to meet the challenge of towering construction 890 feet above the river with rim-only access.

Dr. Marwan Nader, T.Y. Lin International

Dr. Marwan Nader is a Senior Vice President and T.Y. Lin International’s Bridge Technical Director. With over 30 years of experience in long-span bridge design and construction, Dr. Nader is the Engineer of Record and Project Manager  for the record-breaking San Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge Self-Anchored Suspension Bridge, as well as the Engineer of Record and Design Manager for the new cable-stayed Samuel De Champlain Bridge in Montreal.  He serves as the Chair of the Cable-Supported Bridges ASCE Committee and he is a member of the Transportation Research Board’s Steel Bridge Committee.

Dr. Nader is a recipient of the 2004 ASCE Arthur M. Wellington Award. In 2014, he was selected for the Distinguished Alumni of the Year by American University of Beirut and is a 2015 inductee of the Civil and Environmental Department Academy of Distinguished Alumni at the University of California, Berkeley. In 2016, IABMAS honored Dr. Nader with the Senior Prize in recognition of his significant contributions to the field of bridge engineering.


150 N. Riverside Plaza
Century Room
Chicago, IL


5:00 - 6:00 pm - Reception (cash bar, complimentary hors d'oeuvres)
6:00 - 7:00 pm - Lecture


Free! Use the link to the right to RSVP and guarantee your place. 

1 CEU will be issued for this event.


The Structural Engineers Foundation is an independent, non-profit charitable organization dedicated to one goal: the advancement of structural engineering. To attain this goal, and thus prepare for tomorrow's horizons, the SEF has committed itself to sponsoring and funding scholarships, lectures, awards, publications, and research - all aimed at improving structural engineers and structural engineering.





Eduardo Prieto ( Exp Federal )
Peter Busch ( HNTB )
Christopher Cichon ( CE Anderson & Associates )
Mikhail Pasetes ( Horner & Shifrin )
Matthew Kan ( Larson Engineering )
Yi-Ming Lan ( Alfred Benesch & Company )
Adele Scampoli ( Thornton Tomasetti )
Mark Bendok ( Alfred Benesch & Company )
Nilay Patel ( WSP )
Craig Cleland ( Jacobs Engineering )
David Bibbs ( CannonDesign )
Saurabh Mittal ( Horner & Shifrin, Inc. )
David Nauheimer ( Sargent & Lundy LLC )
Mehmet Civelek ( DB Sterlin Consultants, Inc. )
Zaida Morillo ( Primera Engineers, LTD )
Christian Orozco ( University of Illinois at Chicago )
Russell Robinson ( A. Epstein & Sons International Inc. )
Matthew Cummins ( DeSimone Consulting Engineers )
Mark Abtahi ( Stantec )
Kamel BILAL ( Stantec )
Matthew Arnold ( Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc. )
Michelle Ryland ( Klein and Hoffman, Inc. )
Robert B. Johnson
Kremena Dokliev ( Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc. )
Chase Slavin ( Simpson Gumpertz & Heger )
Juan Moreno ( C.E. Anderson & Associates )
Chelsea Zdawczyk ( ARUP )
Steve Elver ( GEI Consultants, Inc. )
Rae sung Lee ( Wight & Company )
Phillip Svetich
Zhang Chen ( Garza Karhoff Enginnering llc )
Perry Pinto ( DeSimone Consulting Engineers )
William Kolbuk ( Sargent & Lundy LLC )
Elaine Shapiro ( Thornton Tomasetti, Inc. )
Arturo Pereda ( Epstein )
Andy Valinskas ( Epstein )
Anastasia Meshkova ( Quiggengineering )
Waheed Mohammed ( Quigg Engineering, Inc. )
William Godfrey ( DeSimone Consulting Engineers )
Emily Larson ( Burns & McDonnell )
Eamonn Connolly ( James McHugh Construction Co. )
Matthew Santeford ( Transystems )
Bryan Stephens ( HNTB )
Sara Davis ( Alfred Benesch & Company )
Enji Papazisi ( HNTB Corporation )
Alberto Guarise ( DeSimone )
John Viise ( DeSimone Consulting Engineers )
Christopher Bove ( exp US Services )
Nihar Shah ( Rubinos & Mesia Engineers, Inc. )
Li Yale Yan
Jennifer Deem ( Forefront Structural Engineers, Inc. )
Lauren Rush ( C.E. Anderson & Associates )
Jeff Ruhde ( Burns & McDonnell )
Jordan Kilhoffer ( Jacobs Engineering Group )
Mazen Syed ( Jacobs )
Justin Mickens ( Parsons Corporation )
Robert Sinn ( Thornton Tomasetti, Inc. )
Bob Magruder ( Goodfriend Magruder Structure LLC )
Prateek Sangal ( Leidos Engineering )
Jie Yang ( Jacobs Engineering )
Anna Dukes ( TranSystems )
Daniel Morton ( Burns & McDonnell )
Josh Brickman ( Magnusson Klemencic Associates )
Kevin Dommer ( JENSEN HUGHES )
Xiaone Wei ( Michael Baker International )
Chris Knipp ( Jacobs )
Stephanie Hautzinger ( CannonDesign )