September 1, 2020 - 5:30pm to 6:30pm

Illinois Infrastructure: Budgets, Priorities and Outlook

Senator Jim Oberweis will give insight into a topic important to all Illinoisans – our state’s infrastructure. Every state needs infrastructure improvements to enable economic benefits through private-sector investment and productivity growth. The condition of roads, bridges, schools, water treatment plants, and other physical assets greatly influences the economy's ability to function and grow. Senator Oberweis will conclude with his thoughts on the pending Federal stimulus initiatives. Join us to learn more about the Infrastructure Bill, budgets and priorities, and the outlook for infrastructure in Illinois and across the nation.


Member $30

Non-member $50

About the Speaker

Illinois State Senator Jim Oberweis 25th District

Jim Oberweis has served in the Illinois Senate since January 2013. He serves as Republican spokesperson for the Labor Committee and for the Environment and Conservation Committee for the 101st General Assembly.  He is also a member of the Commerce and Economic Development, Executive, Revenue, and Transportation committees.

Senator Oberweis also serves as Senate Republican Whip, appointed in January 2019 by Senate Republican Leader Bill Brady to work closely with the rest of the Leadership team on guiding legislation and setting policy. He was first appointed as Senate Republican Whip in October 2018.The 25th District Senator has also been asked to continue serving on the Legislative Audit Commission, which is responsible for the oversight of the State Audit Program, review of the stewardship of public funds, and the monitoring action to correct weaknesses disclosed by the audits of state agencies.


SEPAC was formed in 1987 to represent the interests of structural engineering and allied professions in the political and legislative arenas in Illinois as an independent, bipartisan political action organization dedicated to the protection of the public health, safety, and welfare, the promotion of the application of structural engineering, the improvement of relevant government activities, and the preservation and advancement of the structural engineering profession. Over the years, SEPAC has been responsible for funding the Amicus Curiae Briefs, retaining a legislative monitor to ensure legislation that may affect structural engineers' livelihood and licensure are protected, and most recently acted on behalf of all structural engineers in Illinois to renew the Structural Engineering Act. 

Your dinner meeting registraiton fee is used to support SEAOI and offest the costs incurred of running this meeting. If you would like to donate to support the important work SEPAC does for structural engineers, please visit the SEPAC Donation Page.

* B & W photo by Timon Studler on Unsplash



Saurabh Mittal ( Horner & Shifrin, Inc. )
Salvatore DiBernardo ( Ciorba Group )
Mary Lou Kutska ( Ciorba Group )
Seth Hoffman ( Brierley Associates )
Kristen Erickson ( Pepper Construction )
Rachel Jackson ( Thornton Tomasetti, Inc. )
John Miller ( Nayyar & Nayyar, International, Inc. )
Robert B. Johnson
Jorge Medina ( Leidos )
Michael Weber ( Euclid Chemical Company )
James Pawlikowski ( REX Engineering Group )
Soliman Khudeira ( CDOT - Engineering )
Brian Boysen ( Burns & McDonnell )
Jared D'Amico ( K2N Crest )
Arantzazu Alarcon-Fleming ( Northwestern University )
Rund Almasri ( DB Sterlin )
Johann Aakre ( Michael Baker International )
Kenton Zinn ( Michael Baker International, Inc. )
Jennifer Traut-Todaro ( AISC - American Institute of Steel Construction )
William Kolbuk ( Sargent & Lundy LLC )
Jon Sfura ( Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc. )
Jessy Rojas ( Globetrotters Engineering Corporation )
David Nauheimer ( Sargent & Lundy LLC )
José A Medero ( Thornton Tomasetti, Inc. )
Christine Freisinger ( Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc. )
Peter Babaian ( Simpson Gumpertz & Heger )
Michelle Ryland ( Klein & Hoffman )
John Kissinger ( GRAEF (Milwaukee) )
Jared D'Amico ( K2N Crest )
Dana McKane ( Orion Engineers )
Jan Blok ( The Structural Group, Ltd. )
George Krupa ( Lakeshore Engineering, LLC )
Nancy Radler ( SEAOI )
Stephanie Crain ( SEAOI )
Mary Jane Davis ( SEAOI )
John McLean ( Sargent & Lundy LLC )
James Bibby ( Rempe-Sharpe & Assoc. )
Derek Boeldt ( Chicago Transit Authority )