The Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards Competition takes place each year to recognize creative achievement in structural engineering via innovative structural designs and individual contributions that advance the profession.

Call for Entries

We are pleased to announce the  Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards Program for 2018, the thirty-ninth annual awards event conducted by the association. 

The winners are announced at the Annual Awards Banquet each year.  

Awards are given in the categories listed below.  

2017 Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards

Jurors’ Favorite/Most Innovative Structure

JTI Headquarters
Geneva, Switzerland

Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP 

Ingeni Ingenierie Structurale

Image courtesy of Hufton + Crow

Judge Comments:

…A true marriage of dramatic architectural expression and structural engineering savvy, resulting in a striking and exciting piece of urban architectural 'sculpture'.    

...Just spectacular. The nested trusses and double-cantilever design are only two of the features that make this unusual marriage of bridge engineering and office construction an eye-catching success.

Back to top

Best Renovation/Retrofit Project

Hard Rock Stadium
Miami Gardens, Florida
Ruby+Associates, Inc.

Image courtesy of Hillsdale

Judge Comments:
… Impressively innovative and ambitious construction engineering achievement, in very short construction timeframe. 

Back to top

Best Bridge/Transportation Project
Kentucky Lake Bridge

Cadiz/Trigg Counties, Kentucky
Michael Baker International, Inc.

Image courtesy of Portal


Judge Comments:

… elegant bridge design, equally matched by the innovative construction methodology. 


 …The sequencing and seamless installation expertly complemented the stylish, basket-handle design and built-in seismic flexibility.


Back to top


Best Project – >$150 Million
River Point Tower

Chicago, Illinois, U.S
Magnusson Klemencic Associates

Image courtesy of MKA

Judge Comments:

…Impressive wielding of structural engineering prowess to tackle significant site constraints, yielding an elegant structural / architectural design.  

…Creating a new downtown landmark on a site that had scared off developers for decades.



Back to top



Best Project – $50 Million to $150 Million
Chicago Riverwalk

Chicago, IL
Alfred Benesch & Co.

Image courtesy of Kate Joyce

Judge Comments:

 ...Great reclamation of a long-ignored urban resource.


... Engineers famously reversed the Chicago River over a century ago. Now, they've shown they still have the power to shape it to serve citizens better.


Back to top

Best Project – $5 million to $50 Million
Wrightwood Art Gallery Renovation

Chicago, IL
Thornton Tomasetti, Inc.

Image courtesy of Tadao and Associates

Judge Comments:

…Steel bracing preserved the architecturally significant exposed concrete and helped to conquer yet another tight site

…Innovative brute-force structural engineering solution cleverly disguised in the finished architectural expression.  


Back to top


William and Alys Lavicka Award
Duke University Chapel

Durham, NC
Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc.

Image courtesy of WJE

Judge Comments:

… Impressive marriage of historic structural analysis methodology and state-of-the- art computer analysis


… A beautifully efficient project that ingeniously honored its budget as much as its historically significant canvass.   


Back to top

Awards of Merit

Hancher Auditorium Replacement Facility, The University of Iowa
Iowa City, Iowa
Thornton Tomasetti, Inc.

Image courtesy of Thornton Tomasetti

Hanking Center Tower 
Shenzhen, China
WSP (formerly Halvorson & Partners) 

Image courtesy of Morphosis Architects



The Robey + Hollander
Chicago, IL
FOREFRONT Structural Engineers

Image courtesy of Convexity Development


South Air Traffic Control Tower
Chicago, IL
exp US Services, Inc.

Image courtesy of exp

Union Station Transit Center
Chicago, IL
Simpson Gumpertz & Heger

Image courtesy of SGH


The Viceroy Hotel
Chicago, IL
FOREFRONT Structural Engineers, Inc.

Image courtesy of Goettsch Partners



Willis Towers Watson - Feature Stair
Chicago, IL
Thornton Tomasetti, Inc.


Image courtesy of Thornton Tomasetti