Congratulations to Benton Johnson, 2016 Outstanding Young Engineer Award Recipient

Benton Johnson, Associate at Skidmore, Owings & Merrill, LLP (SOM), has played an integral part in studying the feasibility of using wood in tall buildings and exploring sustainable products, developing a Prototype Tall Building using Mass Timber components and forming a research partnership with Oregon State University. Johnson also served as Lead Engineer on a project to develop 3D printing at a building scale as part of an ultra-low energy housing experiment.

Bradley Young, Associate Director with SOM, presented the award.  “Ben is not only really good at solving given problems, he also displays a strong ability to explore alternative solutions to problems, to re-frame the given problem, or to bring some innovation to a complex or even seemingly mundane problem. Ben has a knack for being able to see the bigger picture, and to pose alternative, creative solutions. In our office, working directly with architects, that’s a valuable attribute that often takes years to develop, if at all. I think it is all really impressive, and frankly it’s been fun to see an Engineer go and stomp out new paths, and see where they may lead.”

photo by Andrew Breen


About the Award

In 2008, SEAOI introduced an Outstanding Young Engineer Award to honor a Young Engineer (aged 35 or younger) who is recognized by their peers for outstanding achievements in structural engineering. SEAOI members are invited to nominate their colleagues for this award by completing this form and returning it to Stephanie Crain. Nominations for 2017 are due March 24


Outstanding Young Engineer Award Recipients

2016     Benton Johnson
2015     Johann Aakre
2014     Brian Dekker; Christine Freisinger
2013     Sudhir Singamsethi
2012     Andrew Keaschall
2011     Nick Triandafilou
2010     Eric Fenske
2009     Robert Stadler
2008     James Pawlikowski